Interim Exhibition

Hi all,

This week at uni we began the installation of our Interim (or half way) show in a small gallery space we have available to us.

For the show I planned on displaying my trio of rose paintings I had completed along with three smaller colour swatches that my fellow art student Tia Howell produced based on the colours I used for these paintings (shown below.)

IMG_3760

Putting up this exhibition was a big eye opener for me in regards to the curation of my artwork. I had a lot of different compositions to consider due to the different shapes of my three canvases and their supporting pieces. I did however come to a conclusion after much experimenting and many suggestions from fellow students and tutors.

 

IMG_3760

However this did put into perspective for me the importance of planning when it comes to my work. Due to the fact that I didn’t think about the sizes of my pieces or how they would be displayed when I was painting them, it was more difficult when it came to putting them up, both measurement wise and aesthetically as well.

It has definitely made me realise I need to plan each piece fully in advance before I complete it, as though it was going to be hung or displayed. This I have found is especially so critical when displaying pieces together or having a series of pieces.

Although installing these pieces had it’s challenges due to to the reasons above, it hasn’t put me off doing a series of paintings that will be shown together. In fact seeing my Trio of Roses on the wall together in a space with other artists has inspired me to do more series work.

In my current practice that is what I am going to continue with; experimenting with the abstraction of flowers via the inversion of colour.

The images below are some pictures of my fellow students work that was also displayed in the exhibition space. Tia Howell produces paintings using geometric shapes investigating colour interaction. Valerie Monks produced a variety of works based on the human body, creating many sculptures from latex, foam and cling film etc, and also works variably in print.

To see more of Tia Howell’s artwork click here to view her website and blog.

To see more of Valeria Monk’s artwork click here to view her website and blog.

Thank you for joining me, feel free to let me know what you thought of our Interim Show in the comment below.

O, x

2 thoughts on “Interim Exhibition

Add yours

  1. There isn’t much more to say on this Olivia, other than it’s extremely professionally laid out, well informed, and beautiful illustrated images of the continual work that is being created. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑